Choux...need HELP!

Discussion in 'Pastries & Baking' started by pongi, May 6, 2002.

1. pongi

pongi

Hi everyone!
    Need help from you professional bakers! As an amateur, I have never made choux successfully in my life :( . Sometimes they don't puff up enough; sometimes they sadly go down after cooking; sometimes I add too many eggs and they taste like crèpes; even when they look good, the taste is totally different from the ones you buy in a pastry shop. So, I have a lot of questions:

1)Flour: which type? I have always used normal white flour, anything better?

2)Eggs: this is the only ingredient whose amount varies according to the different recipes (suppose it depends from the egg size, that is never specified) but how could you realize when they're enough? Most recipes say "add more eggs until the dough is smooth enough" but I need an easy way to know when I reach the right consistency...

3)Procedure: how long are you supposed to cook the butter/flour/water mix before adding the eggs? The dough takes about 1 min to stop sticking from the walls of the pan, is it enough? (One of my recipes says 4 mins, does it make sense?)

4)Baking: how long and which temp? Ventilating or not? Do you think that a home oven can be as good as professional ovens? How long should choux be kept aside into the warm oven when cooked?

Obviously I know that, like bread, it's impossible to make "professional" choux at home...but being able to make something decent would be enough for me. Any good trick is welcome! :)

Thanks in advance,

Pongi

2. w.debord

w.debord

Hi Pongi,

You definately can make great choux puffs at home. They don't require anything special at all. I would suggest staying with a recipe exactly until you become comfortable in what the correct consistancy should be like before you bake by feel.

1.All purpose flour is fine.