Choosing the right commercial equipment for vegetable / fruit puree

Discussion in 'Cooking Equipment Reviews' started by Okalian, Feb 16, 2018.

1. Okalian

Okalian

Exp:
    Hello,

We are working on a small-scale catering service that produces apple and fruit sauces. The idea is to steam the fruits then blend them and place them in a 300 litre tank that keeps them warm while stirring. I'm not experienced enough to know the best / most efficient setup, thus I'm looking for your advice.
    Just to give you a small background, equipment here that are locally assembled are mostly of low-quality chinese parts, and their service life isn't reliable. Thus I'm only considering 2nd-hand reputable brands (ones I've seen here are Hobart and Rational) for budgetary limitations. They are subject to availability of course at the time of purchase, so not everything are readily up for sale.

Steaming fruits / vegetables: The 2 main pieces of equipment I am considering is either a commercial countertop steamer, or a combi oven. I looked yesterday at a hobart 10-grid oven. But will this actually do the job? I'm yet to find any commercial steamers for sale, and I understand that the combi oven will be more expensive. But it's all i can find for now. Seems like the combi oven will fit more applications, but specifically for steaming fruits and vegetables, will it do the trick?

Pureeing steamed vegetables / fruits: Say my goal is to fill the 300 liter mixing tank with pureed vegetables / fruits. Would it make sense to put everything in a big 20 liter blender, blend, then place in the tank (and repeat 14 more times to fill the 300 liter tank), or would placing the sauteed fruits in the 300-liter tank and use a commercial stick blender give the same results? I understand that the smaller the batches, the better the consistency. But i think if the stick blender is run long enough, it will suffice. Thoughts?

Thanks so much for your time and for reading this far :)

2. 21TonyK

21TonyK