Chef Forum banner

Chocolate lava cake question

5K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  ChefMike09 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, I'll just get straight to the point I'm a chef for an offsite catering buisness, a client (100 ppl) is having a wedding which is 40min away from our kitchen and they really want chocolate lava cake, either filled with chocolate or a raspberry filling. Now just with travel thats 40min of holding, dessert obviously is after dinner service so that's about 2hrs of holding for the cake. Now my question is, will it hold? Will it be able to release from its mold? Will it be soggy? Obviously I'd have to use the method where you stuff them with frozen ganache/filling. Is this possible?

#2 ·
Hi Chef......I've done this with a two hour window and....well.....You know the answer yourself.
You know that lava cake is runny by its nature.
I realize that you've made the commitment already and you are looking for a way to make this work.
We all do it.
But there comes a point where we must re-think the logistics of what the client wants, versus reality.

There really isn't any way that you can pull this off without an oven on site. Even Cambros won't help. Your end result will be a dense gummy inside at best. Your idea of using a chocolate sauce to create the illusion is probably your best bet......Good luck

#3 ·
Hi Chef......I've done this with a two hour window and....well.....You know the answer yourself.
You know that lava cake is runny by its nature.
I realize that you've made the commitment already and you are looking for a way to make this work.
We all do it.
But there comes a point where we must re-think the logistics of what the client wants, versus reality.

There really isn't any way that you can pull this off without an oven on site. Even Cambros won't help. Your end result will be a dense gummy inside at best. Your idea of using a chocolate sauce to create the illusion is probably your best bet......Good luck