Chinese cleaver and sharpening

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by chrismit, Mar 29, 2013.

1. chrismit

chrismit

Exp:
    At home cook
    Hey all, I currently use a Mac Pro and chef choice trizor for 90 percent of my work in the kitchen. I love the Mac and the chefs choice does an adequate job of sharpening. Lately I've found my self interested in Chinese cleavers, not that I need one as I'm only a home cook. I've also been curious about carbon and thinking about trying my hand at waterstones. I guess my question is on 2 topics

1. Anyone know much about this knife http://www.chefknivestogo.com/cckcleaver2.html
    2. If I were looking to get some beginner stones would the same ones fly for the cleaver and my Mac? Suggestions?

Thanks for any help

2. denverveggienut

denverveggienut

Exp:
    At home cook
    1- I LOVE the CCK cleaver. Cuts great, feels good in hand, gets sharp easy. 

2- I use the three-stone set from Chef Knives to Go with the Beston/Bester/Rika stones. The same stones should work fine for both the Mac and the CCK. Mac knives are Rockwell 60; CCK are around Rockwell 58-60. No big difference.

3. macmiddlebrooks

macmiddlebrooks

Exp:
    Line Cook
    +1 and I'll state what many will call heresy: A 1000 or 1200 grit stone plus a stone flattener is all you really need to keep any knife super sharp. The DMT XXX (or similar) flattener also takes on the role of re-profiling a very dull knife or to "thin behind the edge" to increase performance on a new knife. Any higher grit stones begin to polish the edge ala a straight razor and you will loose the toothy edge that is usually desirable for cutting food. This has been my experience..of course your mileage may vary :D.

4. ordo

ordo

Exp:
    Home Cook
    Exactly. I have lots of stones but i sharpen my cleavers with just one: a #1200 Bester or, while traveling, A #1000 Glass Stone.

5. chrismit

chrismit

Exp:
    At home cook