Chicken Stock - How important is blanching?

Joined Jan 6, 2018
I am an enthusiastic amateur home cook about to make 6-7 gallons of chicken stock in one fell swoop. I have a 50L stock pot with a false bottom and spigot driven by a Blichmann Hellfire propane burner. It's gear from home brewing that has transferred favorably to stock making, and I really enjoy filling my freezer with good quality chicken stock to have on hand whenever I need it.

I am curious as to whether or not people with more experience than me bother with blanching and draining the chicken parts before simmering to make the stock or if that is only necessary for beef/veal stocks. Also, do you add mirepoix and aromatics right at the beginning or do you simmer the chicken parts for a while first? Finally, as long as I am buying 20-40 lb. cases of chicken parts, what parts do you recommend? I usually go for necks and backs and have been happy with the results, but can something superior be had if I were to use different parts?

If I am going to make a ton all at once, I may as well do it right.

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Joined Mar 1, 2017
I usually blanch the chicken first. This help remove proteins and other "impurities" that otherwise forms the froth (scum) that floats on the surface. I tend to prefer clear stocks, especially chicken stock. So, the clearer the base product, the less effort needed at the end to clarify the stock.

Sometimes, instead of blanching, I will roast the chicken parts and vegetables first. This creates a darker, richer stock that I tend to prefer, especially since I reduce my stock more than usual to intensify the flavor. Its more or less a chicken demi glace by the time I'm done.

As for parts, necks and backs are fine. I use those along with legs and thighs with other parts such as giblets etc. I don't use white meat on account of the fact that it really doesn't have much to offer in terms of flavor.

Cheers! :)

Joined Jul 13, 2012