Chefs

Joined Feb 8, 2017
Hi,

I'm a food writer from the UK and am interested in finding out if there is anything chefs would advise customers to avoid if they got the chance?

Is there anything that, as professional chefs knowing what goes on behind the scenes, you would never order in a restaurant?

For example, seeing the way something is made, produced, re-used, you just would not touch?

The same goes for drinks - any bottles of anything you would avoid?

Are there any times of day you would avoid going out to eat?

Any other backstage secrets?

Thanks!

Joined Apr 25, 2011
If I ever worked in a place where they served something that "I would not touch", I would not be working there anymore.  I can't imagine any chef worth their salt that would continue working in a place that either product or preparation methods warranted warning a customer against ordering something.  food or beverage. 

As far as being a patron, I can tell a lot about a place by simple observation.  Cleanliness of bathrooms and front of house can be very telling to how things are in the kitchen.  From what I see, I can range from never going there again to calling the health department.

While writing this I did think of one thing:  Never order a well done steak.  get something else. 

As far as times to avoid, I would say never to sit down at a restaurant within 20 minutes of closing time.  It's not so much that they will do something bad to your food, but at that point, most of the kitchen will be in breakdown/clean mode and the product sent out sometimes isn't what it should be.  In a well run establishment it is not much of an issue, but in other cases......

Backstage secrets?  Every place is unique in that detail.

Joined May 5, 2010
Wow did you open up a can of worms with this thread.