chef knife recommendations for a clueless husband

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by ZannIAm, Jun 3, 2018.

1. ZannIAm

ZannIAm

Exp:
    ???
    Hey new here and to be honest! I’m only a home cook (not bad but really I don’t need or make anything special) but my wife is an up and coming chef. I want to impress her with a birthday present. I’m in the market for some chef knives. She doesn’t have a good set, and I’m looking to build some for her. I don’t have infinite means, so I’m looking for ~$200 (US) for a good chef knife (or other, she a sauté chef if that is helpful) that’s likely to last at least 4-5 years before being replaced. There are so many advertisements. Does anyone have any good recommendations?

2. iceman

iceman

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Gift Card.

drirene and sgsvirgil like this.
  3. chefbuba

chefbuba

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    Let her pick the knife she needs. It's the cooks choice in what fits/feels good in the hand. Something you can't make a decision on.

BTW, this is the pro's section, you need to be in the industry. There is a general cooking forum for all to use, along with many other forums. There is also a knife section with many knowledgeable folks.

Last edited: Jun 3, 2018
  4. sgsvirgil

sgsvirgil

Exp:
    Retired Owner/Operator
    Yes....gift card or get her something else. A chef's knife for a professional cook is a very personal choice and the details of that choice should be left up to the cook.

There is also an old superstition in the culinary world. Never give a knife as a gift. It cuts the bonds of the relationship. If you want to WOW her with a great gift, save up some more money and buy her a set of 2.5mm copper pots and pans. ;)

iceman likes this.
  5. harrisonh

harrisonh

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    let her pick her own knife!!! Let her interact with her co-workers, mentors, chef instructors, etc