Chef as a Cleaner

Joined Feb 8, 2009
I'll call bullshit. It sounds pretty but as a Chef I worked 12 to 14 hours a day. I had my job to do, my crew had theirs. All most all the cleaning gets done after the evening dinner hour is over. If and when I worked the dinner hour I left after the rush. My lead cook or Sous stayed to close with the rest of my crew.

Joined Oct 10, 2005
I’ll clean my or any station that I worked in, thats only fair for the next person who gets the station.

If an oven or grill needs heavy cleaning—to the Point where parts/components need to be removed I’ll do it and then get staff to clean specific parts. Same for “deep cleans” in walk ins, store rooms, etc.

Joined Mar 1, 2017
This OP posted the same question in another thread that had a bit more substance to it. Here it is.

Hello,
I was wondering if you’re a chef??? Have you ever been seen in your kitchens cleaning? I mean DEEP cleaning? Or do most of you make your Dishwasher clean everything??
I personally lead by example and deep clean my seasonal kitchen at the beginning and end of each season. It’s a shame that the young chefs these days only think they have to “Cook” to be a “Chef” but unfortunately there’s more to running a kitchen than being able to make a Sauce Bearnaise. The mentality of chefs these days is very disappointing as none of them really want to work! All they want is a chef coat w their name on it and some Crocs🤣

This question taken in conjunction with the OP's question in this thread provides a more detailed context.

First, not all chefs operate seasonal kitchens. I sure didn't. I was operating 6 days a week, 52 weeks a year for over 40 years until I retired. So, those "deep cleanings" were done twice per month and "regular" cleanings were done daily.. Every member of my kitchen staff understood that cleaning was part of the job.