Cheese - what is your favourite?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by volupta, Mar 5, 2010.

1. volupta

volupta

Exp:
    Culinary Student
    I am a newbie and I figured I would just plunge in to the deep end and say hello with this post :D

I tried a magnifcent French cheese called Époisses de Bourgogne  last Christmas, it is an unpasterised cows milk cheese with a rind very much like camenbert but washed in the local brandy several times.

I also like Barkham Blue and Wookey Hole Cheddar /img/vbsmilies/smilies/smiles.gif

Whats your favourite?

2. teamfat

teamfat

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    My favorite depends on what I'm cooking at the time, though hard to beat a good parmesan.  For just plain snacking two of my favorites are shropshire blue and Humbolt Fog.

mjb.

3. gunnar

gunnar

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I like the Point Reyes Bleu cheese, it's just packed with flavor.

4. bughut

bughut

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I'm with you on Shropshire bule Teamfat.In fact most blues tickle my palate, with the major exception of Danish blue. Metalic, harsh n nasty
    A very mature Stilton is scrummy and St Augur or Dolcelatta is fab for a light lunch in the sun. But a soggy Gorganzolla is top cheese on my scale.

I do love a Normandy Camembert baked with garlic and evoo...No rosemary. n served with Bits of tiger bread. ( sesame flavoured bloomer)

5. teamfat

teamfat

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    I think a large part of my fondness for Shropshire is because I first tasted it in the Shropshire area, getting on close to 20 years ago.

It was this pub called The Bishop's Tun, I believe, within sight of the Three Bishops.  I may have my geography wrong, it has been a while.  Anyway the plowman's lunch at this place was probably the best lunch I had during our visit over there, the cheese being a part of that.

mjb.

6. french fries

french fries

Exp:
    At home cook