Catering RICE - Newbie needs HELP - Best way to produce rice at an interneal / external event.

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by jumpstart, Aug 22, 2010.

1. jumpstart

jumpstart

Exp:
    At home cook
    Hi,

I am a total newbie so this may be laughable for the seasoned professionals here, but I hope not.

The intention is to supply take-away food at the likes of music concerts or festivals and general festivals.

My biggest problems at the moment are:
    1. How to cater bulk rice at an event.
    2. What equipment do I need and where can I get good kit from even if 2nd hand.
    1. For many years I have cooked rice for 20-30 people at home. I cook it with excess water and when cooked, I will thoroughly wash it with COLD water. This stops the cooking process as if it’s just drained the inner heat will continue to cook the rice and it end up overdone. Then either nuke it in the microwave or add to boiling water for a minute to reheat it. Would this be a plausible way to cook at a venue? Should I pre-cook and reheat or completely cook at the event? Is there anyone who does cook rice for an event company that can please give me any advice?
    1. I am looking for gas burners for large pots plus whatever is going to be needed for rice cooking and storage. Does anyone know any well priced suppliers (UK only) of this kind of equipment that could supply cheap or possibly second hand equipment to start with?  Hopefully they will be friendly enough and helpful to a novice.
    Any and all help, advice or comments are greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Sandy.

2. scottintexas

scottintexas

Exp:
    Cook At Home