career change to pastry chef

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by swordfish007, May 26, 2008.

1. Culinary Institute of America

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. The French Culinary Institut New York

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Le Cordon Bleu Paris

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Lenôtre France

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. The French Pastry School Chicago

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. swordfish007

swordfish007

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Hi everyone! I've read almost all your forums on what schools offer good programs for baking and culinary.

I graduated from Les Roches with a degree in BBA International Hospitality Management, which did not give us extensive experience in a particular aspect such as pastry. I want to expand and master the skills in pastry and baking.

Can you recommend a good school for me? And which program would be best for my skill level? I never applied my kitchen skills at work as I worked in the corporate side of the hospitality industry.

I have 2 kids and I live in Asia so I prefer the intensive kind of program. I'm open to enrolling in Europe or North America or Australia, if they have good schools there as well.

I've already browsed thru the program of Le Cordon Bleu Paris, Lenôtre in France, CIA, FCI, and The French Pastry School in Chicago. It's kind of confusing with all their programs and awards.

I hope you can help me out. I'm dying to launch my career as a Pattisier. :smiles:

2. ras1187

ras1187

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Visit the schools you like and decide which one best fits you... picking one based off prestige is going at it rather blindly imho. I could select a school that I like, but it does not mean that it will work for you. Do you get where I am going?

3. mark leslie

mark leslie

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    Dear Swordfish