Calling all experienced pastry chefs! Please help!

Discussion in 'After Culinary School' started by rubbei merc, Jan 17, 2018.

1. rubbei merc

rubbei merc

Exp:
    none
    Hi Chefs!

I've been saving a lot of my wage for the last two years just to get to culinary school and get a pastry degree. However, due to financial problems. I've decided for now to start learning at home how to bake.

I would like to ask some recommendations on what fundamentals do I need to learn and techniques I need to focus on baking? I want to create a simple topic module for my self to follow while practicing baking at home.

Also, please feel free to suggest some baking books that will help me at baking.

Thank you in advanced for all the help!

PS - Sorry for my bad grammar, English is not my first language.

2. The Pie Hole

The Pie Hole

Exp:
    12 years professional baker

I've been baking for years and have never been classically trained. I grew up baking with my mom and while I am limited in some techniques, the fundamentals are second nature to me and they really are important. Do you have ANY experience baking? Even at home?

For me, I think the best way to learn is to DO IT. Find a recipe and make it. If you are unsure of a term (like creaming, folding, etc), look it up online to give you an idea of what you're after - there are also TONS of tutorials on youtube as well as the thousands of food blogs out there.
    I would recommend picking yourself up a copy of The Joy of Cooking. While it is a cookbook, there are many baking recipes to choose from and a lot of the recipes include more in-depth explanation of how the final product should turn out and why.