Build out and Egg service for local bagel shop - need input

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by Jimmai, Jan 22, 2018.

1. Jimmai

Jimmai

Exp:
    Mobile Food Service/ Coffee Shop Food Program Development
    Hey guys, I just got recruited to help with the build out and menu development for a local bagel shop here in Louisville, KY. They've been around for around 20 years and are known for making the only boil and bake bagels in town; they're moving in to a new space and looking to expand the menu, so they've acquired me for the job.

A little about myself: I'm relatively new to the commercial kitchen game (about 3 years in), but have found it to be strength of mine. I've worked and managed the kitchen for a local burger joint, started my own mobile food service, and built out/ managed the kitchen for a local coffee shop.

I've found my niche in coffee shop- esque food programs and will be transitioning into the local bagel shop developing their food and coffee program.

Everything is bar/ counter service right now at the bagel shop, but we will be looking to extend the menu to more plated items outside of bagels, all the while maintaining as little back of house duties as possible.

My question is related to eggs: we are doing whatever we can do keep all service up front, which means front of house sells bagels, coffee, and all other menu items. They've avoided doing eggs because they worry about managing them in what will be surely high volume for front of house employees untrained for kitchen duties.

My first inclination is to have a 24" flat top up front and train employees to make eggs, limiting egg variations to scramble and over easy. I think there is some resistance to this idea because it phases front of house employees into more of a line cook role, rather than just slicing bagels and dishing out cream cheese.