Buffet Portion Size

Discussion in 'Professional Catering' started by yeh2zak, Apr 21, 2010.

1. yeh2zak

yeh2zak

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Dear All,
    I'm new to the position of "Ex. Chef" and i need to know if possible the proper portion size of all the items "meat, poultry, fish, pasta, rice, vegetable" for each guest to be considered when i make a buffet menu??

2. shroomgirl

shroomgirl

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    Not to sound trite, but it depends on your demographic, location, budget of guests, menu selections.....a lot goes into the formula.

3. chefedb

chefedb

Exp:
    Retired Chef
     Years ago we did what was called a menu pre-cost and abstract. Where we could predict what guest were going to order off a given menu. This is not as difficult as predicting a buffet.. With me , its all based on past experiences, and heed what mushroom girl points out. Weather, time of day, mix of crowd, location, social status of crowd also has a large say in this procedure. Yo will never get it on the button, but you can get it close.

4. gabz

gabz

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    im seem to have fallen in the same boat in planning a buffet menu, is there set portion sizes when planning a menu?

5. chefross

chefross

Exp:
    Former Chef
    Since buffets are usually all you can eat, I have always taken the position that the portions should be small enough so that the guest can take a sampling of everything should they choose to do so. For proteins, I keep them at 1-2 oz but for starches and veggies that makes no difference. IMHO

6. chefedb

chefedb

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    A big error a lot of places make is estimating the total consumption. Example  Lets say an average portion of potato salad is 5 ounces and an average broiled fish is 7, and a roll with butter is 1 1/2 ,and a portion of beef 6 , then  dessert 5-7.