Brunch Menu Ideas

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by john s, Oct 29, 2014.

1. john s

john s

Exp:
    Sous Chef
    Ok so here goes, I've spent most of my day off today developing ideas for sandwiches for the restaurant. Done. Now my next "homework" task is to come up with some brunch ideas as we will hopefully be expanding our operating hours to include a service before dinner which starts at 4pm. For some background, it's an Italian restaurant with a contemporary feel (I'm working on bringing it up to the modern era lol) so most of the brunch offerings should at least be Italian inspired. So my question is, are there any professionals or home cooks with some tried and true winning brunch items that are creative and different? Just a shot in the dark here I guess, just would like to hear what the vibe is beyond the typical eggs Benedict, frittatas, etc. I have lots of menu creation experience but this brunch thing is completely new to me. Thanks in advance.

2. teamfat

teamfat

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    Since I had some homemade bacon earlier today, it is on my mind. Would doing house made pancetta be feasible? Could be a nice selling point.

mjb.

3. koukouvagia

koukouvagia

Exp:
    Home Cook
    When it comes to brunch, a signature dish can make you a neighborhood favorite.  I don't know how one would go about making brunch Italian-inspired, I don't believe that Italians even eat brunch.  Brunch is an american thing, stick to seasonal foods and good quality ingredients and you're golden.  I think it's a cool idea to make individually portioned french toast casseroles.  Easy to prep the day before and you could use left over Italian bread.

There is a pasta egg dish that could be considered italian.  I don't have an exact recipe but it uses left over spaghetti, mixed with an egg custard type mixture and then baked.  

Don't overthink it, just serve up some eggs and some bellinis and it will be fine.

4. chefbuba

chefbuba

Exp:
    Retired Chef