Breakfast Potatoes Help

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by Brandon Ross, Oct 15, 2017.

1. Brandon Ross

Brandon Ross

Exp:
    General Manager/ Kitchen Manager
    Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this thread but the community seems fantastic and I hope to start a discussion about breakfast potatoes. (I saw other threads but didn't see any discussing how to hold/serve).

We serve an a la carte brunch, and currently I think our breakfast potatoes are not being served right. We prepare them by sauteing the potatoes with bell peppers, onions, rosemary & seasoning salt. Just when they get a little color we fry them to cook through and get a little crispy.

At this point they are great, but the problem lies after we hold them on the steam-line for service. They become soft and some become chewy. Throughout the day they tend to get worse and worse.

What else can we do to serve better tasting/mouthfeel breakfast potatoes. Fry to order? Saute to order?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

2. koukouvagia

koukouvagia

Exp:
    Home Cook
    What do you mean by fry? Are you putting them in the deep fryer?

Holding potatoes all day long is never going to yield good results. Ever. I like boil potatoes whole the night before and the next day chop and sautée. It will be a much better result.

3. Brandon Ross

Brandon Ross

Exp:
    General Manager/ Kitchen Manager
    Yes sorry I meant we deep fry them.

Yeah that's what I was thinking too. So then do you saute to order? How do you hold throughout the day without them getting soggy?

4. cheflayne

cheflayne

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    The best way is to boil ahead and saute to order,... or if you are super busy get a few orders ahead, enough to cover 15 minutes (or possibly 30 minutes, although not best) at the most, any more than that and quality will definitely take a nose dive.

5. maryb

maryb

Exp:
    Semi pro/retired now