braising saucepans

Discussion in 'Cooking Equipment Reviews' started by forever_young_c, Mar 9, 2003.

1. forever_young_c

forever_young_c

I am an experienced home cook, serious about cooking and wanting to buy good equipment - although I am not a professional chef by any means.

I am looking for quality braising pans - something that I can use for browning on top of the stove and then put in the oven to bake for a couple of hours, then put back on top of the stove for thickening - for use with stews, casseroles etc. What would you suggest? Are Le Crueset good?

Any suggestions are welcome :lips:

2. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    I have used Le Creuset and like it. However, it broke when I dropped it.

My new pan is an All-Clad Brasier. I LOVE it. I have made several braised roasts in it. It's lighter than Le Creuset and has done a good job for me. I think the price is about the same, $175 or so. It may not be as deep as a Le Creuset, though, but the lid is slightly domed.

By the way, I couldn't help noticing this is your first post. Please do stop in the Welcome Forum and introduce yourself! :)

3. suzanne

suzanne

Exp:
    Food Editor
    I've got both, and both LeCreuset and AllClad are excellent (so long as you don't drop them :rolleyes: ). LeCreuset is enameled cast iron, so it holds the heat well and can definitely be used on top and in the oven. AllClad is great, too -- the layers of metal are all up the sides of the pans, so the heat is even. Both clean up fairly easily; if anything burns on, a good soak overnight will loosen it.

The only possible advantage to AC is the weight: less than LC, so a pot with the same capacity will be lighter. Not LIGHT, mind you -- AC is solid stuff -- but lighter than the cast iron. You can't go wrong with either one. They'll both last forever (if you don't, ahem, drop them ;)); actually the AC still might survive.

4. forever_young_c

forever_young_c