bought a bunch of oysters, now what?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by millionsknives, Oct 1, 2014.

1. millionsknives

millionsknives

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    I bought a bag of 100 oysters overnighted from Duxbury MA.  They were just harvested yesterday. 

I've shucked a few, but this is my first time buying and storing this many.  I have to store them until tomorrow for my party.  I have a few questions for all the experts out there.

1) Storage. The instructions say leave it in the bag in the fridge with a damp towel over the top.  My fridge has a wire rack, so should I put a damp towel underneath also?  Is it better to lay them out on a baking dish or is the bag okay?

2) Sauces.  With oysters this fresh, it's a waste to do anything but eat them raw. Mostly i just like mine with a squeeze of lemon but I plan to have other options for guests.  So far my list is mignonette sauce, a sriracha maple syrup hot sauce, lime and thai chile.  Any other favorites y'all recommend?

2. kingfarvito

kingfarvito

Exp:
    Line Cook
    no towel under them, the towel on top is plenty. Good luck!

millionsknives likes this.
  3. koukouvagia

koukouvagia

Exp:
    Home Cook
    Bloody mary shots!

Champagne mignonette

flipflopgirl likes this.
  4. millionsknives

millionsknives

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    @Koukouvagia   I like this idea with the champagne.  I might modify it though. I have prosecco and apple cider vinegar on hand and apples from last weeks apple picking.

5. koukouvagia

koukouvagia

Exp:
    Home Cook
    That sounds like a brilliant and seasonal modification :)

6. millionsknives

millionsknives

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    Update:

BIG SUCCESS. Shucked some 100 New England Oysters with 1) apple, shallot, apple cider vinegar mignonette with a tiny bit of prosecco 2) standard mignonette with shallots, sherry vinegar ,etc. 3) sriracha maple syrup hot sauce 4) thai chili salt and lime 5) lemons 6) prosecco shots