boast

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by moxiefan, Jan 31, 2002.

1. moxiefan

moxiefan

Exp:
    Sous Chef
    I am an amateur cook and an aspiring culinarian. A recent night out had my friends and I trying to design a friendly week-end cookoff of sorts, and I'm afraid a bit of braggartting got me in over my head. The challenge: a desert featuring one of my favourite ingredients -- gin. (NOT my idea) Gin and sweet are not things I consider terribly compatible. I've been thinking something in a lime sorbet, but that's not really sexxy enough to win the challenger's aquiesence. Goodness knows what he's up to. I've considered dressing it up with a pastry of some sort (perhaps something in a scone?), but I'm not so sure that would work. Any advice would be appreciated, anyway.

Thanks,
    P

2. chrose

chrose

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    How about a Gin and Lemon Souffle crepe with chopped cranberry spikes.

Canadian Gin and Maple Fool

Just a thought:eek:

3. moxiefan

moxiefan

Exp:
    Sous Chef
    Cranberry! now that's an idea. Not a big fool fan, though.

Thank you very very much. Victory is Mine!

4. chrose

chrose

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Let us know what you do and how you do. Aslo consider using a lightened Lemon Gin Curd if you do a souffle crepe.

Orange/Gin Crepes. Crepes sauteed in Orange MArmalade and flamed with Gin. I likes me some crepes:D

5. suzanne

suzanne

Exp:
    Food Editor
    The main flavoring agent of gin is juniper berries. Beef stroganoff is often flavored with gin or juniper. Beef stroganoff is smoothed with sour cream. Juniper-infused sour cream ice cream, against a cranberry-black pepper granita?

6. isa

isa

How about a gin and topic jello...

7. chrose

chrose

Exp:
    Professional Chef