Biggest kitchen problems???

Joined Aug 5, 2018
Hey everyone! I'm a uni student doing a course where we have to come up with a product to make things easier in the kitchen so I'm looking for problems that you might have. Thanks x

What frustrates you?
What grunt tasks are really annoying?

What always goes wrong when you get busy?

Joined Oct 10, 2005
Most frustrating problems are human related, that is people to people problems.

Next most frustrating is infrastructure or lack of, ie: a shoebox size kitchen meant to serve 80 in the dining room and another 40 on the terrace, or no gas and only 100 amps of power to run the whole restaurant. Or some dip-wad owner who thinks you can pump out pancakes, eggs, bacon, ham, and hash browns for 60 seats on a tiny 24” griddle.

For grunt work we have equipment, we’ve had it since owners realized that time is money. If we don’t have the equipment for grunt work, then we buy pre made i.e.: frozen fries, 3” tart shells, mayonnaise, etc.

What always goes wrong when it gets busy is a dangerous question to ask, especially if you’re superstitious..... But mostly it’s human error—a dining room manager seating 50 people a’la carte at once, or infrastructure or equipment breakdown like a pipe bursting, or a deep fryer whose thermostat won’t shut it down.

Joined May 5, 2010
Hey everyone! I'm a uni student doing a course where we have to come up with a product to make things easier in the kitchen so I'm looking for problems that you might have. Thanks x

What frustrates you?
What grunt tasks are really annoying?

What always goes wrong when you get busy?

Hello and welcome to ChefTalk....even if it's for research.
Like foodpump said kitchen equipment from place to place varies so everyone you ask will give you a different answer.

Someone needs to invent a service product like a device worn by an employee that delivers information, motivation, and creativity directly to their brain. Now THAT would take care of a lot of problems.