Biggest insult to a chef/cook

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by chefteldanielle, Feb 8, 2006.

1. chefteldanielle

chefteldanielle

what is the biggest insult to a chef as far as his/her cooking is concerned?

Just trying to prove a point here.
    Thanks
    Danielle

2. panini

panini

Exp:
    Owner/Operator
    um. The only time I get a little perturbed is when someone asks me a question about my profession to win a bet:lol: :smokin ;)

3. cape chef

cape chef

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Danielle,

Haven't seen you in a couple years, welcome back.
    CC

4. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    I'll add my "welcome back" too!! Good to see you again, Danielle.

I'm not a chef (and I don't play one on TV either). I've been a lunch cook in a small diner though, and my brother is a chef/owner of a restaurant. I hate to say it, but I've seen a chef, as a diner in a restaurant, get another chef out of the kitchen and complain about the food in front of other guests. That has got to burn.

5. chrose

chrose

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Hey Danielle,
    Not quite sure where this is going, but the only thing I can think of off hand that would get my goat is if someone critiqued a dish I made and tried to tell me how "it should be done".
    Screw you, next time do it yourself, and don't ask me to make it for you. There see, just typing it raises my hackles!:mad: :beer:

6. markv

markv

Although easier said than done, I think it's extremely important not to intertwine our egos with our food. We must always remember that individual tastes vary greatly for a multitude of reasons and anyone's dislike of our cooking and/or techniques` could have nothing to do with us.

That said

I find it very annoying when other chefs have a different way of approaching a task, not a better way, just a different way, and they act like THEIR method is the only right way. I detest such egocentricity.

Mark

susanne feigum likes this.
  7. jessiquina

jessiquina