Best way to move out older table sitters?

Joined Aug 18, 2015
I am a hobby home cook and come here for the threads on cooking. However, I have a professional question on 'customers'.

Long ago, when I was a kid, old people would go to a place and park at a table and smoke cigs one after the other. Order, smoke a cig, food, smoke, first coffee, smoke... It was awful. They banned smoking about 20 years ago and that parking at a table seemed to go away.

Now it is back. I first noticed it a few years ago at breakfast places. Old people would get a coffee and milk the refills for a long time, hogging a table. Now I am seeing it at dinner spots, too.

I am in an area where we have a lot of union retirees, and they tend to be lazy and rude, so it may be just around here. I hope.

How big of an issue is it generally? What is a way to stop them from doing it?

Joined Jan 19, 2014
I own a small, breakfast-centric cafe with just 38 seats. Camping is a HUGE problem for us, especially on a busy weekend morning. I cringe when a group comes in toting gifts, or laptops and notebooks. There's not much you can do about it. I tend to walk the room wearing my chef whites, asking how people are enjoying their meals. When I see a camper, most get the hint when I ask if they enjoyed their meal, thank them for coming, and telling them to have a great day "out there". When they don't take the hint, I'll return to the table and ask if there is anything they would like to order, and tell the bus person in my best stage whisper, when these folks finally leave, set their table up as a 3. Usually works. Unfortunate, but its a must to get the turn to make any money in this biz.

Joined May 5, 2010
Happyhobby no, this is not just around your area. We have the coffee clutchers in small town America. At least we have some that will clean up after themselves.

Joined Sep 21, 2001