Chef Forum banner

Best way/temperature to rest meat

2K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  Geoff Johnson 
#1 ·
I’m trying to determine the best way of resting steaks, duck breasts etc. In particular, what is an ideal temperature to test meat in? Some possibilities: room temperature on a cold plate, room temperature on a warmed plate, in a proofing drawer, in a cool over (say 110 degrees).

So, pro chefs: how do you do it?

Cheers,
Geoff

#2 ·
I'm not a pro so I'm not facing your scale issues. I don't think there's a single approach.

I rest a steak covered at room temp. A roast turkey I tend to stuff in an unused microwave as much to.keep it out if the way as rest it. And that microwave tends to be warmer than room temp.

So meats cooked to two different finished temperatures will be rested differently than each other or ones that skin needs to keep crispy.

With sous vide, I can largely ignore resting entirely.

#3 · (Edited)
Hi and welcome to CT. :)

I think you may be overthinking this one. The time to rest certain roasts, steaks and whole roasted birds varies depending on factors such as size and especially depending on who you ask. For instance, I've been told by chefs with decades of experience that a roasted turkey should rest for 45 minutes to an hour before carving. On the other hand, I've also heard experienced chefs insist that a roasted turkey should rest for as much time as it took to roast.

But, you have to remember, in the professional world, we have strict rules that apply to holding food that do no necessarily apply in the home kitchen. So, we may not give you the precise answer that you are looking for.