Best Culinary School in Paris?

Discussion in 'Choosing A Culinary School' started by tuchop, Jun 26, 2019.

1. tuchop

tuchop

Exp:
    none
    Hello everyone, I've been struggling to decide which culinary school in Paris is the best.
    I see there's mixed feelings with Le Cordon Bleu, some people say its the best and others say its only famous but not that good in reality. I also read a lot of great things about Ferrandi, Lenotre, etc.
    I'll be using my life long savings so I'd like to make the best decision here and join a school that will give me the best preparation/teachings for my future.
    Thanks for your time!

2. sgsvirgil

sgsvirgil

Exp:
    Retired Owner/Operator
    Hi and welcome to CT.

Do you have any experience working in a commercial kitchen?

3. tuchop

tuchop

Exp:
    none
    Hi! Thanks for the answer.
    I have zero experience in a commercial/professional kitchen and I know most here will suggest to first get an experience there before going to culinary school. This is not an option for me right now. I might work next year for a few months in one, before going to Paris.
    Both LCB and Ferrandi offer internships in their programs, so I guess there's some experience there.
    My main concern is which school would be the best choice. I know LCB is more recognized worldwide by people (even not related to the industry), but maybe now a days chefs prefer graduates from Ferrandi (or any other)?

4. sgsvirgil

sgsvirgil

Exp:
    Retired Owner/Operator
    Any culinary school will teach you what you need to know in order to function in a commercial kitchen. Given their locations, some schools offer more focus on specific cooking methods and techniques while others provide a more rounded curriculum.

However, your real education will not begin until you start working in busy kitchen.