Best advice I have gotten on keeping people from using/ruining your good tools

Joined Aug 18, 2015
I am a home cook who is okay and has some nice things. Family and friends love to grab and abuse those things under the guise of cooking or helping. Examples (there are so, so many): 1. Bought the Victorinox paring knife based on advice here, used it once to open and scrape vanilla beans. I come home the next day to find my wife using it to trim cardboard to mount a poster in a frame. 2. I go to the bathroom and return 3 minutes later to find a friend warming rice in my brand new scanpan using the metal spatula I use with my cast iron (I have no idea why)

A friend is a food fan, a better business attorney, and has been through therapy for a long time. I was talking about my cooking knives and good pans issues. Best observation and advice ever followed.

Buy something this is cheap but looks cool, and hang/mount it closest to the work area. 'It is new and you use it, so I need to use it, too'

I tested it with a orange handle Rachael Ray Santoku and it looks fancy so I bought it for cheap on Amazon. Kept the blade guard on to look better, put it on the rail closest to the board and it is keeping people away from the better knives. I just got new fancy looking red handled Sur La Table skillets thanks to the one-thousandth 60% off email I got this month, and I have hung them on the rack closest to the stove. No issue with someone bypassing for the good pans yet, and I didn't cringe this morning for brunch when I used it for scrambled eggs and I was 'helped' by someone with a metal spoon.

Last edited:
Joined Apr 25, 2014
Thats nice if you have money (and space) to double everything. I just dont put up with any malarkey in my kitchen.

Joined May 25, 2015
 I find my surly personality to be an excellent deterrent.
I have doors on my kitchen and make it known that nobody belongs in there except me. /img/vbsmilies/smilies/mad.gif

Joined Aug 18, 2015