Chef Forum banner

Beer Hot Sauce

2K views 13 replies 9 participants last post by  Wilson Slader 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, new to this forum. Im a chef who has experience making hot sauce and cooking/ using beer (specifically craft beer) in cooking.

I have recently been making hot sauce by fermenting chili peppers and other ingredients with a brine that includes beer. I have to say I have had some amazing results. I add other ingredients such as; garlic, carrot, onion, sweet peppers,much more as well as spices, sugar, salt, and sometimes fruits. To date I have made 8 hot sauces and each one is getting better and better.

The reason I post this is because there seems to be a lack of information out there about beer hot sauces. Not many recipes on google, no videos on youtube, its just not out there. Maybe its just me who loves it but if anyone else has ever done it too/ wants to learn about it, give me a shout.

#9 ·
I love ipas for floral and bitterness (although must be careful about too bitter). Sours are my favorite as they have so much fruitiness and the acidity helps to balance the sauce. simple lagers or pilsners or any mild body beer can be great but wont stand out due to the heat.

#8 ·
Wow this is amazing, great response! i can give plenty of information as I am currently on my 8th batch! The easiest way to describe my process is as following: