Beer Drinker with Champagne Problems

Joined Dec 20, 2016
I'm normally extremely budget-conscious.  While I appreciate quality products and artisan craftsmanship, much of my culinary arsenal can be attributed more to diligent treasure hunting, sweat equity, and serendipity than purchasing power.  However, I have returned a plethora gifts to Williams Sonoma over YEARS that has resulted in a merchandise credit totaling close to $800!  It is awesome in that it is essentially "free" money, and perplexing in that Williams Sonoma is not a store that carries those items that I salivate over.  (Pre-1940 iron skillets and 2.5+mm copper are not to be found in big box stores in general.)  Hence my dilemma.

One thought was to blow it all on a few Shun Premier knives.  Do I think that they are the best knives out there...or even the best for their price point...no.  Then again, I am a home cook who really doesn't need the culinary equivalent of a Lamborghini to run errands in.  I cook often, but only for myself and loved ones.  The knives that I have been using are a ridiculously oversized set of 22 Global Classics that I bought off of a culinary school dropout over a decade ago.  It was a great deal and they have served me well, but I don't use half of them and am not enthused about the handle material or shape.  It would not pain me overmuch to sell them to some other ambitious soul.

To the belated point...  I know that many of you do not recommend Shuns when there are better quality or value options to be had.  However, I have a 20% off total purchase coupon and a card full of "free" money.  My major limitation is that I have to spend the aforementioned wad at Williams Sonoma (or one of their affiliated companies - Pottery Barn, West Elm, etc). 

The specific knives that I am considering are the:

- Kiritsuke Knife, 8"

- Nakiri

- Bread Knife

- Vegetable Knife

- Ultimate Utility Knife