Balsamic raspberry chanpagne question

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by welshstar, Dec 30, 2010.

1. welshstar

welshstar

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    Hi

I want to serve Seared tuna tommorrow night with a Balsamic reduction with fresh raspberries. I use a good quality balsamic, my question relates to an idea i had about using champagne with this, it just seems like a good fit. I am a total amateur so please forgive me if this is stupid.

What is the best way to proceed ?

Mix say 30% vinegar with 70% water, reduce and then add champagne right at the end ?

Or go with a balsamic/champagne mixture at the start and reduce the champage ?

Would yopu cook the raspberries in the sauce or serve them more intact as a later addition ?

Any thoughts or comments welcome

Alan

2. phatch

phatch Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    If you're going to reduce balsamic, why add water?

3. chrisbelgium

chrisbelgium

Exp:
    Home Cook
    Welshstar, if I were you I would save the raspberries for a dessert like pannacotta or icecream with a raspberry coulis. Quite easy to make and delicious.

Seared tuna asks for something simple but tasty. How about a "sauce vièrge", or -in english- a virgin sauce. Perfect match with seared tuna. BTW, before searing tuna, put a good handfull of white sesame seeds on a plate and dip both sides of the tuna in untill nicely covered. Sear tuna in a very hot pan. Looks nice, tastes great!!

A sauce vièrge is so basic, I use it frequently with tuna, and, I haven't met anyone who didn't like it. The base is diced tomatoes, diced shallots, basilleaves, lemonjuice and olive oil. You could add white balsamico instead of lemonjuice, chopped parcely and/or cilantro, and finally olive oil. It is served luke warm.