Baking gone bad

Joined Aug 4, 2020
Hi!
I’m new to this site and I’m new to bread baking. I started about six weeks ago and was instantly successful. Here is my recipe:
420 g bread flour
2 tsp saf instant yeast
2 tsp coarse sea salt
360 ml room temp water
I mix it all together (no kneading other than getting it to hold together). I let it rise until about doubled in the covered bowl, and then I put it in the fridge until I need to have fresh bread. Sometimes two, sometimes three nights. When I’m ready to bake, I put dough on floured surface, make a loaf, let it rise again for an hour or so, cut slashes in the top, and bake it at 475F for about 35-40 minutes with a pan of boiling water at the bottom for steam. Internal temp 190F. Delicious!

I have no clue what I am suddenly doing different. The last three loaves I made have been getting progressively worse. The inside is dense, the crust is like rock. I keep the yeast in a blue glass jar in the fridge. Have I been slacking off and not paying attention to how long I let dough rise? Perhaps. Could letting it rise too long be a problem?
Does more kneading make the bread denser?
I would appreciate any thoughts about what might have gone wrong with my baking.

Joined May 5, 2010
There are different kinds of yeast. You mentioned instant yeast. Using instant yeast, there is no need for a double rise. Simply mix the dough, shape, allow to raise, then bake.
Your yeast died because you allowed to the dough to sit too long in the fridge. Had you used regular yeast, you might have better results.

Joined Aug 4, 2020
Thank you! I see. Maybe I should not keep my yeast in the fridge at all, but in the pantry instead. The first five or six loaves I made the above way turned out so great I was boasting to my family what a great baker I was! And I WAS told that putting dough in fridge improved the flavor. But maybe my yeast has gone kaput. So I will buy a new badge of yeast, keep in pantry, and try again. Thanks again!