bagel problems...

Discussion in 'Pastries & Baking' started by ojosverdes, Sep 20, 2005.

1. ojosverdes

ojosverdes

Hi there,

I just tried to make bagels for the first time today. They came out tasting right but were very flat. Any suggestions??
    I have made bread and rolls more times than I can count and am familiar with the general process so, although I am far from a professional I wouldn't exactly say I am an amateur either. What could I have done wrong?

Thanks to anyone who responds :p

2. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    It would help if you would post your recipe and method.

3. ojosverdes

ojosverdes

Here is the recipe I followed. I got it from allrecipes.com and it came highly recommended. Like I said before, I have made breads and rolls many, many time and am familiar with the process and what the general texture should be. I used packaged yeast which according to the date was still good. Could it have gone bad though?? Oh, I followed the recipe that did NOT use the bread machine, maybe that was the problem but then I don't know why they would put it was an option if it doesn't work. :D

Thanks again.

INGREDIENTS:
    •4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
    •3 tablespoons white sugar
    •1 1/2 teaspoons salt
    •1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast
    •1 2/3 cups warm water
    •2 tablespoons margarine
    •1 tablespoon white sugar
    •2 teaspoons salt
    2.OR, mix 1-1/2 cup flour, 3 tablespoons sugar, 1-1/2 teaspoons salt, and yeast. Heat water and butter to 120-130 degrees F. Add water to dry ingredients; beat 2 minutes at medium speed on mixer. Add 1/2 cup flour, beat at high speed 2 minutes. Stir in more flour to make a stiff dough. Knead 8-10 minutes. Cover and let rise. Punch down. Cover; let rest 15 minutes.
    3.Remove from bread machine.