At a professional level, are some parts of a chefs abilities genetic/physiological?

Joined Aug 24, 2018
I'd like to ask this to professionals if I may.

Beyond the home cooking level, and beyond a base level of skills and knowledge, are some chefs simply born with better palates and intuition than others?

I play music for a living. While anyone can learn the basics of playing an instrument, I can clearly see that some musicians are born with intrinsic abilities that others are not. In the same way that some athletes have physiques and eye-hand coordination that is much higher than an average persons.

So apart from personality, work ethic, business acumen, income class, and personal issues etc..., have you guys found that some of your colleagues are just more natural chefs than others?

If your answer is yes, then what makes a 'natural born chef'?

In sports a born advantage often pertains to muscular structure and size. In music its often related to a persons neurology. What genetic factors would set someone apart from the average person in your field?

Thanks!

Joined Oct 10, 2005
For me, a Chef is the leader of the kitchen, and yes, some people have better leadership skills than others.

For cooks, I personally feel that a desire to learn, and to master skills is what separates a great cook from a mediocre one. Again, some people have this built in thirst to learn and master skills, and for others it has to be learned.

Joined Mar 1, 2017
Definitely. Just like music, the ability to cook is something that anyone can learn. Like music, a person does not have to be good at it to enjoy it. Nonetheless, some people are just born with exceptional aptitudes for certain things like cooking.