As a newbie here is my pet peeve!

Joined Nov 7, 2001
I've chatted on several other forums and did a search looking for additional ways to chat with fellow foodies! I found this site!

My pet peeve in the food world is, orange completely flavorless tomatoes. They are everywhere. Can we start a boycott of these imposters. I also belong to an organic and gourmet food co-op and would like to see if there are any others out there looking for better ingredients and going the extra mile for better ingredients.

Sincerely, Karla (my family's home chef!)

isa

Joined Apr 4, 2000
Welcome to Chef Talk Karla!

The best way to protest about fruits and veggies of poor quality is not to buy them. . :)

My supermaket carries unripe tomatoes but a few years ago they started to carry georgous flavourful red, and ripe, tomatoes.

Joined Mar 13, 2001
Hello Karla and welcome to Cheftalk.

As Isa just mentioned, don't buy and/or complain until you get understood!

;)

Joined Nov 7, 2001
Hi Kimmie,
I don't buy them. I also ask what type of tomatoe will be used in my salad, on my sandwhich, or in any other dish I order. Then I politely tell them to leave it off if it is not a naturally ripened tomatoe. But I still see these terrible examples of what a tomatoe is supposed to be, in the grocery, on the sandwhiches, in the salads. I just thought getting the masses involved may prove helpful in providing us with a better product in our local grocery when they can't be grown in our backyards. But, yes I did mean to complain about it. :confused:

Joined Mar 13, 2001
Do you have a farmers' market in your neck of the woods, Karla?

Try to look for Roma tomatoes (Plum tomatoes). During the winter months, use canned italian brands.

:rolleyes:

Joined Nov 7, 2001
Hi Kimmie,