artichokes?

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by dennis, Nov 25, 2004.

1. dennis

dennis

Hey everyone, my first post!

I'm interested in this dish that involves atrichoke and sausage. It's a fairly simplistic dish to prepare. Funny thing is, I've not ever eaten an artichoke, let alone prepared one!

I'm just learning how to cut one, and what parts are edible.

So, what does an artichokes flavor resemble?

Do the leaves taste the same as the heart?

Are there any bad things that could come from cooking one the "wrong" way?

Any help is appreciated, and thanks in advance.

Dennis

2. jzone

jzone

Depending on what you are making, canned may be much more suited to your recipe. Preparing aritchoke hearts from scratch is very time consuming. About the only time i use fresh ones is to eat them straight. I just steam them and serve with garlic butter or other dipping sauce. People love dipping and scraping the meat off the leaves with their teeth. very fun appetizer.

When doing fresh ones though be careful of the "choke" in the middle. the fine little threads will realy other teh throught if inhaled etc. must be scraped or cut out before eating the heart.

Canned ones I find best in sauces, with pasta or antipasto, etc.

The flavour is quite unique and I can't really come up with anything similar... they are kind of meaty in the way mushrooms are... slightly bitter, a touch pungent like asparagus, but mostly their own flavor.

One note is they tend to go not so well with wine. There is a mild reaction between artichokes and wine that can range from neutral if lucky to extremely unpleasant. When eating straight it actually goes well with water (lemon or limes go well in the water too) water brings out subtle flavours in the artichokes...

The wine issue is less of a problem when the chokes are mixed into sauces and are not the prodominant flavor provider...

I am a huge fan of artichokes though and hope you have fun with them...

Jason

3. mezzaluna

mezzaluna