Featured Apprenticeship advice

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by kullboys, Jan 12, 2018.

1. kullboys

kullboys

Exp:
    kullboys
    Hi everyone. I'm an 2nd year apprentice chef. About 9 months ago, I had to leave my apprenticeship.
    I was doing an apprenticeship that was in-house training. This meant that, my theoretical work was done like correspondence and the practical training was done within-house. I wasn't school trained.
    I completed my 1st year without any problems. Half way through my 2nd year, I had a change of head chef and some of the other chefs left the kitchen. My practical training stopped. I continued working hard and completed my theoretical work. I was told by the head chef that I had to train myself in the practical work, either at home or looking stuff up online. It was either that, or I leave, as he didn't have time to train me. By this time, 6 months of my second year had passed, and I hadn't had 6 months worth of practical training. The type a normal apprentice got if they went to school. I tried to teach myself, but given the choice of teaching myself, or leaving, I chose to leave because I wouldn't have been shown the correct training if I'd taught myself.
    I love cooking. My question is directed to any chefs or head chefs that can answer my question. Is it worth continuing on with my apprenticeship, seeing as I've missed so much training, or should I repeat the second year? The thing is, I've done all my theoretical work and gained the certificate from school. I just lack all the training that you receive at school for the subjects.
    I ask again, is it worth me continuing on in my apprenceship, seeing as I'm 40 years old, or should I just call it a quits. I'm not sure what to do as I love cooking.
    Thanks

2. Whatsburning

Whatsburning

Exp:
    Chef