Apple Pie is too runny! Help!

Discussion in 'Pastries & Baking' started by cdavis2488, Oct 5, 2005.

1. cdavis2488

cdavis2488

Hi everyone. I am new to this group- and am having a problem with my apple pie.
    I am cooking it on 375 in a convection oven, and everything is turning out fine, except that there is too much liquid in with the apples after cooking. It makes it actually kind of runny!
    Any suggestions on what I can try. I am rather new to making pies- so any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thnaks!
    Cindy :bounce:

2. mudbug

mudbug

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    Difficult to determine without seeing the recipe. Can you post it please?

Even without seeing it I suspect a lack of any type of thickener.

3. zukerig

zukerig

The variety of apple chosen for the filling is also a factor (and that you are using fresh apples). Traditionally, Northern Spies are a primary choice for single-variety uncooked pie fillings. Pippins are another good pick for a tart, firm-textured filling – either cooked or uncooked.

On the other hand, Golden Delicious & Granny Smith varieties need to have some of their juice cooked out of them, otherwise they’ll exude too much moisture during baking in the pie case. Personally, I would use Golden Delicious to make tart tatin rather than a two-crust pie.

Many professionals prefer to bake pies with two different varieties of apples in the filling – such as Granny Smith & McIntosh, both of which are available in prime condition throughout the year. In The Dessert Bible, Christopher Kimball recommends experimenting with “three or four different kinds in a pie and [seeing] what happens.” He suggests looking “for one apple that is very sweet, one that is very tart, one that holds it shape well during baking, et cetera.” (Little, Brown, & C., 2000; pp. 228f.)

Many diners will prefer a filling that’s somewhat loose, rather than thick & firm (as would be produced by – heaven forbid! – canned apples).