anyone experience modem problems with

Discussion in 'The Late Night Cafe (off-topic)' started by markdchef, Jul 10, 2001.

1. markdchef

markdchef

[email protected] and Macintosh pc?

The techs at comcast don't seem to understand Apple products and they take weeks to send someone out.

any input would be appreciated. I am new to the Mac.

2. mudbug

mudbug

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    markdchef ,

Exactly what type of problems are you having?

Did your service provider provide the modem you are using? If no, then they are not responsible for tech support for your modem.

You said "Macintosh PC". If you are using a Macintosh, then you are using a "Macintosh" not a "Macintosh PC" (Macintosh personal computer should be understood) which can often be mis-understood which is why people say they are either on a "Mac" or a "PC".

Have you tried looking up info on the parent company of the modem manufacturer?

If you are considering using a Mac friendly service provider, Earthlink has the highest customer satisfaction in that area.

The more details you can provide, the better we can help.

:)

[ July 10, 2001: Message edited by: cchiu ]

3. markdchef

markdchef

mac personal computer (thus the "pc") Power Mac G4 with [email protected] provided Motorola cable modem SB3100. The account at first was not set up, then when it was set up the ip was stolen, then the idiot at comcast said the problem was with the Mac, then they said it should be up and running by last Saturday. Now they say they need to send one of their techs next week. I think they do not understand Macs or for that matter their own service. Apple said to get the specifics from Comcast.

Since it is my first Mac I can not figure if there is any problem on my end at all.

4. mudbug

mudbug

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    markdchef,