Another, Which knife for me thread!

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by scomel, Apr 21, 2012.

1. scomel

scomel

Exp:
    Home Cook
    Hi all,

My first post :) !

I've been looking at getting a Gyuto for sometime, and as its my 40th next year I figured - no better excuse!

But its so conufing as to what i should consider.

I'm in Australia so have to allow for postage etc, but thinking of spending up to $400 USD.

Here are the knives i'm considering:

Takeda

Konosuke Fujiyama

Masamoto KS

Shigefusa (okay its out of my price range, but still considering it!!)

There is a range of steel types in there so im not sure about what would suit me best.

I'm a home cook with some experience, will need to sharpen up (pun intended) my sharpening skills though.  So the knife is not going to get used heavily like in a commercial kitchen.

Probably looking at getting a 240mm.

Any thoughts or recommendations??

Thankyou

Scott

2. duckfat

duckfat

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    IMO you can't make a poor choice between the Masamoto and the Shigefusa.

Dave

3. scomel

scomel

Exp:
    Home Cook
    I contacted CKtG and they said they've stopped selling Shige's due to too many problems.

4. duckfat

duckfat

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    That would make the Masamoto an easy choice for me. IIR CKTG is out of stock but Koki at JCK has a better price on the 240mm any how and has them in stock.

Dave

Last edited: Apr 21, 2012
  5. mano

mano

Exp:
    Other
    If this is your first Jknife seriously consider a CarboNext 240 gyuto at Japanese Chef's Knives. http://www.japanesechefsknife.com/KAGAYAKICarboNextSeries.html

Shipping is only $7 and if you specifically ask for a saya, they're pretty inexpensive.  You'll need to sharpen it yourself; so if you don't already have them, buy a couple of wet stones. 

The knives you mentioned are excellent high performance cutlery that may not be the best for the first knife of a home cook. 

6. chinacats

chinacats

Exp: