Am I being unrealistic

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by smitties009, Aug 18, 2017.

1. smitties009

smitties009

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Hi everyone,

to cut a long story short, Im a head chef and do private catering. I am coming into my 6 th season. Food is very high end. I have had a young assistant chef along side of me for the past 9months. I now have a manager whose knowledge of food is very limited, she is pushing me to get this guy to cook my breakfast dishes, I take pride in what I do but I'm struggling to let go, and it hurts big time to see my dishes being done looking NOT how they are meant to be and some of the cooked components aren't being executed good enough & he forgets components. I feel like I'm being pushed out, I've worked so hard to get where I am. This manager and young guy know each other outside of work. I critic she undermines me in front of him, then says I need to make dishes simpler. I'm not liking my job anymore and would leave if I could. I'm the only income earner until my husband has his operation.

Is this a common thing for other chefs, what would you do? Am I being unreasonable? Should I suck it up and let him dish up food that's motto my standard. Are my expectations and standards too high.

I would love you're feed back.

Cheers

2. nicko

nicko Founder of Cheftalk.com Staff Member

Exp:
    Former Chef