All about truffles

Joined Jun 28, 2001
If you haven't read my other thread, I'm looking into selling my vegan truffles in stores. I'm no chocolate expert; in fact, I can't even eat it b/c I'm allergic. I just like working with chocolate and I've come up with a product that no one else is selling, so I've decided to cash in. :) Anyhow, being that I have this handicap, and have yet to find a taste tester who has a professional's palate, I need to know about shelf life. About how long can truffles last? I've got a small line of 5 hand dipped truffles right now. Different flavors of ganache enrobed in dark chocolate and finished with finely chopped hazelnuts, cocoa powder, gold dusted, etc. Since they're vegan, obviously, there is no heavy cream in them so I'm thinking that helps to extend the shelf life. What's the ideal temperature to store them at when on the shelf? For long term storage, is it better to keep them in the fridge or in the freezer? I worked at one place that made a ton of truffles about a week in advance for holiday truffle trees. They kept just fine in the fridge, but what about for longer than that? Or should I just not store them longer than that? I stored some in the fridge for 4 weeks and my amatuer testers all said they tasted just as good as the first day. But who knows? Maybe they were just hungry, or their tongues are too stupid to know the difference...? What about fruit fillings? Do they last as long as ganache fillings?

In school, the only fruit type filling recipe I got was basically fruit puree added to ganache. I somehow think it should be cooked or the shelf life wouldn't be so long? But it says to just fold it in. How long would this last? (I know there's a lot of factors that will determine the shelf life, but I'm just looking for ball park figures).