Advice on Culinary School

Discussion in 'Choosing A Culinary School' started by Khadija Malik, Sep 22, 2018.

1. Khadija Malik

Khadija Malik

Exp:
    2 years in Franchise management and 1 year as a commis chef in restaurant.
    Hi,

I ama 32 year old lawyer from Pakistan. About 3 years ago I moved out of law and mananged franchises we owned in London. I moved back in 2017 and undertook a culinary course, a Level 2 Diploma in Culinary Arts from City and Guilds.

I know there is still so much more to experience in terms of new techniques, food innovation and in particular molecular gastronomy. I am considering undertaking either an associate degree or similar in Culinary Arts as a stepping stone to be able to work in abroad to gain experience int he above mentioned.

I am in the process of applying to culinary schools, which are hella expensive, but it is quite literally where my heart is set. I worked as a chef in a restaurant in Lahore and enjoyed every minute of it, the good day, the bad days and completely unpredictable ones as well. I love being in the kitchen, creating something new, translating my passion onto a plate, every day. I have pulled long shifts of over 16 hours and still managed to love it. ( As this was something many people felt to warn me about)

These are the american schools I have shortlisted ( on a recent trip, I really enjoyed the diversity in American food; both comfort and fine dining).
    1- CIA
    2-Kendall College
    3-ICE
    4-ICC
    5-Johnson & Wales
    6- Escoffier
    7-Le Notre
    8-Monroe College
    9- Newbury

I am an international student so my obvious choice would be to prefer a school that gives out grants to international students. If anyone knows of any external grants I can apply to please feel free to share, as most schools only award very modest grants to international students.

I am open to applying to Europe and Australia as well, for which I have short listed the following:

1- Leiths