Advice Needed for my upcoming Stage in a highend kitchen

Joined Dec 11, 2017
I'm a 30 yo cook about to go into a very upscale German inspired kitchen. Menu Techniques and Station that will all be new to me.. I've been cooking about 4 5 years and I am in my opinion decent with fair knife skills. I've been told I'm better than I think but still doubtful that I'm on par with my new Station... Any advice on Saute or Grill? Trout, Salmon, Calamari, Venison, Elk, Lab, Filet?Sunchoke Soup?? Any tips for time management, Temping or Knife Skills? I want my best foot forward and I want this position.. Thank you for your advice..

Joined Aug 15, 2003
The search function is your friend here...there are literally dozens of threads about this, all chock full of great advice.

Also, I object to your use of the term "stage." You are doing a trail or tryout. A stage is when you work for free for a few days-months as a learning experience. But that is neither here nor there, I'm just on a personal Quixote-esque quest to change the vocabulary for that word.

They aren't expecting you to master the station in a tryout. They will pair you with someone who you will trail all shift, watching, helping with MEP and setup, and maybe plating a few things during service. If you are killing it he/she may step aside and let you run the section for a few minutes to see how you do.

They want to make sure you are a good fit. They want to see you hustle, stay busy, and have high energy. They don't expect you to know how to work the station, but they want to feel comfortable knowing that they can train you to do it if they hire you.

Here's some general advice, in no particular order:

1. Make sure your knives are sharp
2. Uniform should look good--take an apron and a hat with you, just in case
3. Don't take all your knives, just a few. Don't drag in your full kit or your tackle box full of whatever