Advice for changing kitchen environment

Joined May 23, 2020
Hi chefs first time posting here but looking for some advice / practical methods.
I have been a chef for 20 years but worked solely in contract catering. I am now a kitchen manager and have been for 10 years so I am very experienced in managing people, suppliers, hygiene, stock etc. I am now at a stage where I really want to try something different in a more commercial environment. I am feeling pretty anxious as I only know how to 'mass' cater buffet and banquet style and have never ran a short order / a la carte restaurant service. In my current job I cater for 300 people per service, all fresh food from scratch but I am used to cooking large quantities of food from fresh, put out on the counter and served. I really have very little clue how I would go about running a restaurant service. Is it something I would be able to adapt to quickly? How much different is it going an a la carte service for say 30 plated covers over an evening service to 300 covers in 30 minutes buffet style? I think I am pretty strong when it comes to the actual culinary knowledge it's the logistics of the service I'm most curious about. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Joined Sep 17, 2018
I don't think it will be too hard to transition, especially a 30 cover restaurant. With a little time you will learn the correct pacing, and ordering and prepping should be based off of relative numbers. Plus if there is already seasoned staff there, I see no reason they would be unwilling to help you get your bearings.

Joined Aug 21, 2004