Advice for a new chef?

Joined May 15, 2020
So I wouldnt exactly call myself a chef-yet, but I know that at some point I'll be able to earn that title and wear it proudly. But the issue is I feel like I make too many mistakes, I mean I learn from every mistake I make but it almost feels like for every one I learn from I male 2 mpre during my shift. I graduated from culinary school so I should know better than to do these silly things and I'm scared that my chefs would fire me for screwing up so many times
...but they havent yet and so far they've been very patient with me but I'm kind of worried that even that has a shelf life....so my question is at what point do I go from constantly screwing up to making progress and moving forward?

Joined Aug 21, 2004
One of my mentors told me that I wouldn't be a chef until I had made my first 5,000 mistakes. :~)
Mistakes have the potential to teach me much more than when I do things correctly because when I do things correctly I am too busy patting myself on the back and saying "well what did you expect?". When I make a mistake I will delve into and pay attention to the why and how much more than when something turns out.

Joined Oct 31, 2012
Where did you get the idea that chefs with a certain amount of experience never make mistakes?
What do you consider a mistake? Making new mistakes is a part of learning.
Sure you should never stop learning but you never reach the point where you avoid mistakes entirely.
What your chefs see is someone who works hard to do their best. Less stress over making mistakes and more concentration on simply doing the work should help you some. My only advice without knowing you is to mentally slow down a little and focus on doing each task correctly from start to finish. This may seem strange advice but better efficiency allows you to complete the overall day with fewer errors. Over time you build up speed at doing multiple tasks but by concentrating on each one at a time.