advice after surgery

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by PerplexedChef, Sep 12, 2017.

1. PerplexedChef

PerplexedChef

Exp:
    Chef
    Hi everyone,
    I'm a long time listener, first time caller.
    I've always enjoyed reading the advice on this forum and this is not what I wanted for my first post.
    What I really wanted was to ask a million questions about my first year as a chef; staff problems, dealing with absentee management, balancing all my tasks etc.

Instead I need advice on something else.
    I am a chef at a medium sized place, small staff. I work the line and prep in addition to my chef resposibilities.
    About a week and a half ago I had surgery for an umbilcal hernia. I was given two weeks off to start and I know I can't lift anything heavy for at leas two months.

My doctor won't, or can't, give me a straight answer about when to go back to work.
    I'm araid that if I go back too soon I might fall into old patterns and do damage to myself. I'd feel silly and useless asking somone else every time I had to move a box or bend over.

I know we all recover at a different pace but any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Perplexed

2. kuan

kuan Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    I don't have any advice but I have a wish for you. Get well soon and take it easy. Your first day back at work could be a half day. See how it goes from there.

3. someday

someday

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I would talk to your staff and get them on board. Let them know that you want to be there to work, you aren't trying to be lazy, but you'll need help with some things in the short term while you heal. What's the big deal? If you have a good team and your cooks and sous chef's have your back, should be no problem.

4. Jayvader

Jayvader

Exp:
    CIA Sept '99