*Actual Pro Standards* for Carbon Steel Seasoning

Joined Jul 27, 2015
Hey all,

Long time lurker with only a few posts. I’m an avid home cook with almost exclusively carbon steel and cast iron (both high quality), and I have come to the following question:

In a pro kitchen or in a pro’s home kitchen, how much worry or perfection goes into the smoothness of seasoning on a carbon steel skillet?

For example, I have a great piece from Blanc - a 13” roaster - that is seasoned very well but still new-ish, and tonight I used some soy sauce in it. The soy sauce created the first sticky substance which I’ve barely been able to get off. Even after I scoured it with salt, etc., it still didn’t come all the way back to smoothness.

The thing is, I do not want to be precious about these pans, I want them to just work great. Which brings me again to:

Would a pro just be like “who cares?”, and move on with it, cooking and seasoning over it?

Thanks in advance for your help. Unfortunately, I don’t have any chef friends to ask.

Best wishes to all,
MG

Joined Dec 18, 2010
Burnt food debris is not seasoning. It’s burnt food debris.

Seasoning is not a one-time thing. It needs to be maintained. After the initial seasoning a good wash is what’s needed after use. The cooking oils and cooking sessions build that initial seasoning. Sometimes it gets a bit altered. Press on. About the only situation that’s really problematic is forgetting an empty pan on the hob and burning the seasoning off. Then it’s back to square one.

Joined Dec 18, 2010
BTW, real pros value their tools. They may not buy the most expensive or trendy tools, but it’s how they make a living so a “who cares?” attitude is the sign of a loser.

Joined Jul 27, 2015
BTW, real pros value their tools. They may not buy the most expensive or trendy tools, but it’s how they make a living so a “who cares?” attitude is the sign of a loser.
Thanks for the responses. Understood to the above points.