AAARRGGGHH.... No kitchens are hiring

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by crane, Jan 8, 2002.

1. crane

crane

I am an undergrad in St. Petersburg Florida. I have been trying for a while to find any type of job in a kitchen, I have not problem doing the lowliest type of work. I've been a dishwasher before, and I'd be happy to do it again if I could just get some "kitchen experience". All of the places that are hiring are just hiring line cooks, and I'm not experienced enough for that. What can I do? I need to get a job. Oh well, I guess I can just keep on looking.

2. anneke

anneke

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    Have you tried through your school?
    How bad do you need the money? Would you consider working for free to get some experience?

It's a tough time of year to be looking Crane; kitchens are slowing down after the holidays. But it's always a good time to offer your services for free...

Good luck to you!

3. crane

crane

I don't really need the money, but who wouldn't want to make a few extra dollars. I really just want experience. I would be willing to work for free, but I thought that there were some legal problems with that, like liability.
    I may just end up taking a job in the dining room of a restaurant, but I would really like to be in the kitchen.

4. anneke

anneke

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    Many restaurants do it Crane, and many people on this board have done it. I'm thinking specifically of Slave Girl. She's in a better position to tell you about liability and insurance issues as she is living in the US.

If you chose to go that route, then aim high. Don't settle for a mediocre restaurant. Aim for the best restaurant in town; if they turn you down, go to number 2, etc. If you're going to work for free, then you deserve to really get something out of it.

5. chrose

chrose

Exp:
    Professional Chef