A question for the chef..

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by kimbal, Dec 2, 2002.

1. kimbal

kimbal

Hello everyone! I am a student at University, and I am currently working on a research paper about chefs. Though I have found many articles, I would like to get more opinions, which is why I am posting here. I know that over the years, there has been an increase in public knowledge of your profession through means such as open kitchens and the Food Network. So my question to all of you chefs out there is how have these things changed your profession over the years? Have they changed your profession for the better or the worse? If you have been in this line of work for a while, how have these changes affected the public opinion or acknowledgement of your position? And lastly, what are your feelings, if any, of TV chefs? Thanks for your help and time! :)

2. coolj

coolj

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Well for starters the food network is a great educational tool, just don't take verbatim everything on every show, some are more there for the entertainment end of the network and some are there so that you can actually learn something. Secondly, I think this is more my own personal opinion, but with a greater public knowledge of the profession, I sort of feel that sometimes the general public loses respect for the fact that being a 'chef' is an certified trade,( just like being a mill right or welder, etc...). I would have to say that Alton Brown, Bob Blumer, Christine Cushing and Jamie Oliver are my favorite chefs right now. At least in respect to the food network.

3. w.debord

w.debord