A professional question

Joined Aug 28, 2018
I work in a kitchen as a line cook. While the the owner, who is a chef, was introducing some of the kitchen staff to special guests, she referred to me as great chef. Out of professional I did not reply how I usually do when I am called a chef. Usually I politely inform people that I’m a line cook. I did not say that due to the fact that I did not want to contradict the owner and chef. I am not entirely comfortable with being called a chef with completing formal schooling. What should I do?

Joined Sep 26, 2017
You just need to learn to differentiate between the definition of the word 'chef' used in the kitchen, and the one used by the general public.

Joined Feb 24, 2015
Agree with the above - it's a compliment
Take it, they tend to be rare, and be happy

As to your predicament with being called a chef, I've always found, that what other called you is one thing, how you see yourself is a whole other thing - and - in my honest little opinion - a Chef does not necessarily have something to do with culinary school...

Joined Oct 25, 2016
Education from an institution doesn't necessarily equate to being a "chef". I believe that the skill in itself becomes acquired with the attention to detail and knowledge handling food. Being battle tested with efficient and consistent professionalism makes you a "chef". With that being said there is a such thing as a "station chef", or what we refer to as a "line cook" and under french cuisine as "chef de partie".

Joined Jan 31, 2012
If your boss is referring to you as chef to guests and others, wear it
with pride and strive to live up to it. In time youll be thinking of yourself
as chef, and your confidence will improve, improving your work as well.

Joined Jan 4, 2011
"Chef" is a vocabulary word. Don't worry about it. Just worry about doing your job well and getting paid for it. You'll be fine.

Joined Aug 26, 2016