A Jones for Popcorn

Joined Jan 1, 2001
I absolutely LOVE popcorn! I can't get enough of the stuff! But I have a special way of eating it that may seem strange-- I sprinkle nutritional yeast on it that I buy at the health food store. It boosts the protein and adds a multitude of B vitamins making a bag of popcorn into a healthy, balanced meal.
And--it's absolutely delicious! I've even got my 84-year-old Dad eating it (strictly a meat-and-potatoes kind of guy.)

I've been eating it this way for well over 20 years since my old "crunchy, granola-head" hippie days. Do only old ex-hippies eat their popcorn this way?
Has anyone else heard of this treatment to popcorn?

I LOVE POPCORN!

Joined Mar 13, 2001
Never tried it like that before. My favorite is a spiced-up popcorn with a blend of red pepper flakes, ground cumin, turmeric, cracked black peppercorns, salt and vegetable oil.

It's really lip-smackingly good!! :lips:

Joined Jul 24, 2001
I love pop corn too. I just have it plain. Butter and salt.
But I Love the taste of yeast.
Can you be more specific foodnfoto? I'd like to taste that

:lips:

Joined Jun 1, 2001
Nutritional yeast and popcorn are the chocolate and peanut butter of the savoury world! The yeast has a lovely rich cheesy flavour (it's way, way tastier than any of that powdered popcorn "cheeze" stuff, and much better for you of course!) Plus, it tends to melt a bit when put over hot food, which means it sticks nicely.

Air-popped popcorn, a spritz of butter spray, nutritional yeast and salt are my standbys. Chili powder is good, added in. If I'm fussing, the yeast, cayenne, a teaspoon of sugar and a teaspoon or two of garlic powder, all powdered in a spice grinder, makes a great "Hot Cajun" corn.

isa

Joined Apr 4, 2000
Are you talking about the same yeast that is so popular in Australia or is it something else?

Joined Jan 1, 2001