A high class tailgate

Joined Jan 6, 2015
First, 'allo! I admit I'm not a regular contributor, but I hope I can throw my weight as I am able.

To begin, I'm a home cook in the marvelous region of the US southwest (New Mexico). The topic of this thread is so unique to our area... the Santa Fe Opera has a grand tradition of tailgating! There are folks dressed in jeans, while others are in tops and tails, and ladies in mumuus or ballroom gowns. What would you brilliant professional or home chefs bring to a tailgate to a world class opera?

Since this apparently isn't done in other areas, here are some examples of tailgates at the SF Opera:

Jennifer-Lisa-and-friends-photo-Steve-Collins.jpg

Tail-Gate-Kate-Russell-800x534.jpg

sf_opera_open_night-13.jpg

Tailgating-c-2011-Kate-Russell-2.jpg

The constraints are that there are no heating elements on site, and typically a host must travel about an hour before parking at the opera house. On the other hand, nobody has told me before to not charge up my camping stove.

Historically, I've done chicken salad and pita, duck rillette, salads, pies... I'm just looking for something that will feed fancy people in a fancy way when we're all trucking there with a durango truck and setting up on a picnic table.

In addition, the opera I intend to host for this year is Doctor Atomic:

https://www.santafeopera.org/operas-and-ticketing/doctor-atomic

So of course, anything thematic would be appreciated. But more importantly... what dish would you recommend?

Last edited:
Joined May 4, 2005
That is the coolest thing I’ve ever seen!

Gougeres would be a good item. You could also make big ones and fill them with cheese mousse or something. You could also split them and use them as a “bun” for a fancy prosciutto sandwich bite.

Joined Aug 21, 2004